Skip navigation

I’m looking forward to the release this summer of the latest Batman movie – The Dark Knight Rises.   With what I know about the movie, this has the potential to be on my list of favorite movies.

As I said in my post, “The Problem with Potter”, I consider the ability to convince your reader/viewer that your hero can die critical to creating true dramatic tension.  after all, a hero isn’t really heroic if he can’t be stopped.  NO movie I have ever seen has done this as well as the last Batman movie, “The Dark Knight”.  I truly spent a good portion of the movie believing that the Joker would win – though of course I knew intellectually that he couldn’t.

I never read a lot of Batman comic books (or graphic novels, if you prefer), but I was the right age when “Knightfall” was released to know a bit about it.   I doubt this movie will follow the original story line too closely, but – I don’t want to give away any spoilers – it isn’t likely to end well for the Caped Crusader.

I have every confidence that Christopher Nolan can do this story justice, and I can’t wait to see how this will come out.

 

Leave a Reply

